PDA

View Full Version : anyone bought from amigastuff.co.uk ?


stuntpup
08 January 2003, 14:40
I ordered a couple of cables a month ago and am still waiting for em .. anybody bought stuff from here ?

CodyJarrett
08 January 2003, 18:27
Yeah - I got my stuff though. However, they were copied CDs and one didn't work.

I think that they used to be Alive Mediasoft...

Paul
08 January 2003, 18:40
Yes. :) I got a new game pad and new mouse for my A600. They each took a month to arrive.

thinlega
08 January 2003, 19:12
Originally posted by CodyJarrett
Yeah - I got my stuff though. However, they were copied CDs and one didn't work.


yep me to....and they had the cheek to say that because xenon2 cdtv was so rare thay had got permission from the bitmaps to Copy it!!!!

DrBong
09 January 2003, 18:07
Originally posted by CodyJarrett
Yeah - I got my stuff though. However, they were copied CDs and one didn't work.

I think that they used to be Alive Mediasoft...

Thought they were formerly Epic Marketing UK. Doesn't matter really......Epic and Alive were both crooks.

BTW in case people don't know, the Amigastuff people operate 2 other web sites selling Ami gear:

http://www.amigajoysticks.co.uk/

http://www.amigagames.co.uk/


They also go by the user ID of V-Direct on Ebay and have received 66 negative and 47 neutral feedbacks. Check out their somewhat dodgy record of feedback here:

http://cgi2.ebay.co.uk/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback&userid=v-direct

NytroX86
09 January 2003, 22:16
I got three Amiga things from V-Direct but I can't say without problems. The very first item was a brand new joypad which got lost in the post, so V-Direct told me he'd send another one. After a couple of weeks I did get my joypad and its great (A comp pro 3 button megadrive one). The other two deals went great and he responded to emails but he never leaves feedback.

stuntpup
09 January 2003, 22:39
ah yes i`ve actually bought a couple of items from V-direct too .. bit slow to arrive and one game had its codesheet missing .. i`m praying the cables i ordered turn up now ... :scream

Steve
09 January 2003, 22:55
If they are Alive Mediasoft then I would strongly urge people not to deal with these guys. I think the guy behind Alive Mediasoft is called Steven Flowers and has done a lot of bad business with desperate Amiga users. I bought Blade from them back in 97 and I wish I hadn't. It was a rip-off and the overall product was of very low quality. His most infamous dodgy deal was not paying Amiga Format for advertising which eventually forced Amiga Format to close it's business. I reckon they work from a house and have no interest in helping the Amiga community only in making a quick buck. Their eBay rating speaks volumes. They've been con-artists since Alive Mediasoft and clearly haven't changed (apart from the name). They are amatuers only interested in making money. Avoid their business like the plague!

Toaks
09 January 2003, 23:38
i will say this faster than .... DONT BUY ANYTHING FROM this place,
this is a PIRATE shop , there is alot of proof and still nothing can be done to close the damn shop down.

I have bought 3 (or more) from this place , they all came in the end...but the games was pirated copies (paper label etc..)
i checked with the REAL orginals and i emailed back to amigagames.co.uk , then he claimed it wasnt pirate just re releases.

then a few months back i bought from a person called "v-Direct" on ebay , this is AMIGAGAMES.co.uk and the gamnes i bought was also
COPIES and still he claimed it wasnt.


All major sites cover many shocking story's about this and even Cu Amiga And Af had alot of warnings about this place.

Check his EBAY profile , why havent it been closed??? he has more negative feedback than the whole EBAY .

Paul
10 January 2003, 10:23
:eek :eek :eek :eek

I must be lucky that my game pad and mouse were fine.

Good job I never ordered any software, I was thinking about it. :hoo

Jan
10 January 2003, 11:51
Originally posted by tonya
Check his EBAY profile , why havent it been closed??? he has more negative feedback than the whole EBAY .


Don't want to defend him, but you are exaggerating. His negatives/neutrals are not even 5% of his overall profile.

NytroX86
10 January 2003, 12:20
I'll add that I got a very good condition original of Syndicate CD32 from V-Direct, definately not a copy, and also an Amiga CD(32) version of Superfrog. Superfrog is mint, and not a copy, but I think its a re-release as its got Team 17, Islona(?) and Amiga CD-ROM logos on the front. The game is apparently licensed to Islona.

Akira
12 January 2003, 16:28
This "shop"is shite, an utter ripoff.. Steer well clear of it.

blackcornflake
13 January 2003, 00:43
Basically, it seems something of a lottery... sometimes good service and satisfactory products, sometimes not. I myself have had both good and bad purchasing experiences with this firm.

The very fact that there is the possibility of receiving nothing for your money is of course totally unacceptable, and so I also suggest people avoid dealing with them.

ElectroBlaster
26 January 2003, 20:57
Well my m8 has bought quite alot of cd's from amigastuff.co.uk and every one of them were copies with printed labels on them....

I did email them about that and they got guite narked with me over it lol! they claim they have the right to copy anything thats in the shop and sell it as original LOL!

stuntpup
26 January 2003, 21:41
still no sign of those cables i ordered .. :mad

and no reply to my email enquiries.. i hope they go bankrupt and/or get run over by a bus :lol